The Retired Jersey Numbers Of The Arizona Cardinals

The Arizona Cardinals have only been playing in the American Southwest since they moved there from the Midwest in 1988. The franchise has an incredibly long history though that dates back to more than 20 years before the founding of the National Football League. Throughout their history, they have had a number of great players wear the Cardinals jersey. Who though has set themselves apart from the rest so much that they ended up having their jersey number retired?

Since joining the NFL, there have been three main eras for the Cardinals, all signified by where the team was located. From 1920 to 1959, the team played as the Chicago Cardinals. From 1960 to 1987, they were the St. Louis Cardinals. From 1988 to present day, they have played as both the Phoenix Cardinals and the Arizona Cardinals. The franchise has retired the numbers of five different players, including at least one player from each of their eras.

Chicago Cardinals
#77 – Stan Mauldin
#99 – Marshall Goldberg

St. Louis Cardinals
#8 – Larry Wilson
#88 – J.V. Cain

Arizona Cardinals
#40 – Pat Tillman

The Cardinals have had an up and down history, with a lot of lows and some ufabet สมัครสมาชิก highs too. Throughout that time, the five players listed above have stood out for one reason or another as worthy of honoring by retiring their jersey number.

Other great Cardinals players in team history include: Roy Green, Ernie Nevers, Ollie Matson, Charley Trippi, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith, Larry Wilson, Roger Wehrli, Aeneas Williams, Anquan Boldin, Edgerrin James, Vai Sikahema, Kurt Warner, Jim Hart, Ottis Anderson, Freddie Joe Nunn, John David Crow, Neil Lomax, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The fact that they are a great team is not Arizona Cardinals